DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED TEXAS-PENALTIES

 

DWI 1st

1).  Incarceration in the County Jail up to 180 days and a fine up to $2000

2) $1000 surcharge from the Texas Department of Public Safety for three years after the conviction

3) Probation on most first DWI cases include fines, supervision costs, time consuming community service, attendance in the DWI education class, and possibly the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

4) Both Jail time and/or probation result in a criminal conviction that can never be expunged off your record.

 

DWI Above .15

1) Incarceration in the County Jail up to 1 year and a fine of up to $4,000.

2) $2,000 surcharge from the Texas Department of Public safety for three years after the conviction.

3) Probation on most DWI above .15  cases include fines, supervision costs, time consuming community service, attendance in the DWI education class, and the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

4) Both Jail time and/or probation result in a criminal conviction that can never be expunged off your record.

 

DWI Second Offense

1) Incarceration in the County Jail up to 1 year and a fine of up to $4,000.

2) $1,500 surcharge from the Texas Department of Public safety for three years after the conviction.

3) Probation on most 2nd DWI cases include fines, supervision costs, time consuming community service, attendance in the DWI education class,  mandatory days in jail as a condition of your probation and the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

4) Both Jail time and/or probation result in a criminal conviction that can never be expunged off your record.

 

 

DWI Third Offense

1) Incarceration in the Texas Department of Corrections of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $10,000.

2) $1,500 surcharge from the Texas Department of Public safety for three years after the conviction.

3) Probation on most 3rd DWI cases include fines, supervision costs, time consuming community service, attendance in the DWI education class,  mandatory 10 days in jail as a condition of your probation and the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

4) Both Jail time and/or probation result in a criminal conviction that can never be expunged off your record.

© 2014 by The Macias Law Firm PLLC .Proudly created with Wix.com