The Macias Law Firm offers excellent criminal defense at affordable prices.  In addition to Driving While Intoxicated we also provide aggresive and affordable representation for a wide range of other criminal offenses.  Below are just some of the many areas we handle.  

Possession of Marijuana AND 
Possession of Controlled Substances

Possession of Marihuana:  In Texas, Possessing 0-2 ounces of Marihuana carries a maximum punishment of six months in jail and up to a $2,000 fine. More than 2 ounces and less than 4 ounces carries a maximum punishment of a year in Jail and a $4,000 fine.  Possession of more than four ounces is a felony.   

Possession of Constrolled Substance:  Possession of Methamphetamine, Cocaine, Heroin or LSD carries a minimum punishment of two years imprisonment.  Possession of Valium, "Bars", Zoloft, Vicodin or other over the counter medications carries a maximum penalty of two years in jail.

Domestic Violence/ Assault Family Member

In Texas, Domestic Violence is known as Assault-Family member.  A family member includes anyone with whom you have a romantic relationship, familial relationship (brother, sister, cousin) as well as someone living in the same household as you.  If the complainant feels pain, it is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in jail.  If serious bodily injury results it is a Second Degree felony carrying a maximum punishment of 20 years in prison.  If the complainant is choked and cannot breathe, it is a Third Degree Felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison.  These cases often come down to "he said-she said" so it important you employ competent representation that can deal with the intricacies of these cases.

Burglary of a Motor Vehicle

In Texas, Burglary of a Motor Vehicle is a Class A misdemeanor and carries a maximum punishment of 1 year in jail and a $4,000 fine.  This crime is considered a plague on our community and as a result Prosecutors offer steep punishments in order to discourage the commission of this crime.  Be sure you employ a knowledgable attorney who can help make sure you do not wind up receiving the maximum punishment!  

Theft / Shoplifting

In Texas, Theft punishment ​varies according to the value of the property stolen.  Under $50 is punishable only by a ticket.  Over $50 is punishable by up to 6 months in the county jail.  Between $500-$1,500 is punishable by up to a year in jail.  $1,500-$20,000 is punishable by a MINIMUM  of 180 days in state jail.  Over $20,000-$100,000 is punishable by a minimum of 2 years but a minimum  of  2 Years in the Texas Department of Corrections.  Over $100,00 carries a punishment between 2 and 20 years in prison.  

Additionally, Theft is considered a crime of moral turpitdue; meaning that a conviction for this offense will make it difficult to obtain employment or housing since many employers and landlords will not rent to people with theft convictions.  Be sure to hire an attorney who understands the collateral consequences of these charges!



  • Assault-Bodily Injury

  • Evading Arrest

  • Resisting Arrest

  • Failure to Stop and Give Information [Hit And Run]

  • Prostitution

  • Sexually Oriented Enterprise Violations

  • Theft By Check (Writing Bad Checks)

  • Terroristic Threat

  • Deadly Conduct

  • Unlawfully Carrying Weapon

  • Criminal Mischief

  • Criminal Trespass




  • Burglary of A Building

  • Forgery

  • Burglary of a Habitation

  • Injury to a Child

  • Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle

  • Enhanced Misdemeanor Offenses (For example 3rd Evading Arrest or 3rd Burglary of a Motor Vehicle)